15 oldest cities in America

America’s oldest cities

America is often called the center of diverse cultures. And if you look at the early history of the United States, you understand why. In those past years, when the first European settlers were just starting to arrive in the country of opportunity, modern American metropolitan oldest cities such as New York, San Francisco, Philadelphia and San Antonio were nothing more than tiny settlements belonging to different countries. But over time, these settlements developed and united, becoming historical and cultural centers that are familiar to everyone today. To explore this rich, unique, and often complex history of America, this article talks about the 15 oldest cities in the United States.

15. San Francisco, California (1776)

San Francisco

The city of San Francisco is one of the oldest metropolitan areas in the United States, but its roots go to the mission known as the San Francisco de Asis Mission, established by the Spanish researcher Juan Bautista de Anza in 1776. Also the original structure of this mission has been preserved to this day, being the oldest building in the city by the bay. This first settlement at Golden Gate was quite small, but the California Gold Rush brought thousands of new residents, turning the “Mist City” into one of the largest cities on the west coast.

14. Savannah, Georgia (1773)

Savannah, Georgia In 1733, the English General James Oglethorpe and 120 passengers reached the Savannah River, establishing a colony Georgia, named after the English King George II. Savannah was the first major settlement in Georgia, which later became the state capital and major port. Savannah is famous for its thoughtful city plan and beautiful architecture.

13. New Orleans, Louisiana (1718)

New Orleans The birthplace of jazz, New Orleans, was founded in 1718 by the French explorer Jean Baptiste Le Moyne de Bienville. Named after the French city of Orleans, but it was first known as the Novelle-Orleans. The French influence on the city can be seen to this day through the numerous architectural pearls built at the time when the city was a French colony. For centuries, the city has been a major cultural center in North America, despite many natural disasters caused by the city’s somewhat unfavorable geographical position.

12. San Antonio, Texas (1717)

San Antonio Santa Antonio is the seventh largest city in the USA by population, and many know that the settlement has a long history. Father Antonio de Olivare paid his first European visit to the area in 1709, he decided to build a mission in the area. But with the help of local Indians, Payaya Olivares and other Spanish settlers built Presidio San Antonio de Bexar, Acequia Madre de Valero, and most importantly – the famous Mission de San Antonio de Valero (Alamo), which became a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

11. Mobile, Alabama (1702)

The city was founded by French settlers in 1711. The founder of the city was Jean-Baptiste Le Moyne de Bienville. Initially, the settlement was founded a few kilometers up, compared with the current location of the city. But frequent floods and illnesses forced residents to relocate. The city was named after the Maubila River (now the Mobile River), on which the city stands, which is also the name of the local Native American tribe.

10. Biloxi, Mississippi (1699)

Boston

Another French colonial settlement founded by Bienville. Its name comes from a local indigenous tribe, Biloxi. Interestingly, the city, according to the original plan, was the capital of French Louisiana, but fear of tides and hurricanes affected the transfer of the capital to New Orleans. Unfortunately, these fears came true, centuries later, as Hurricane Katrina hit the city in 2005. He is still recovering from the disaster today.

9. Philadelphia, PA (1682)

Philadelphia Philadelphia, or“ City of Brotherly Love ”, was founded in 1682 by Quaker researcher William Penn, who represented their colony as a peaceful land. This colony will subsequently become the state of Pennsylvania with the capital of Philadelphia. Today, the city is best known for attractions such as the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall.

8. Charleston, South Carolina (1680)

Charleston, or Charles Town, as it was originally named after King Charles II of England, was founded by settlers brought from Bermuda by Governor William Sale. Also the city became an agricultural center, famous for rice and indigo. The colonists were in conflict with the locals, so the city was subsequently fortified. To this day, the city has buildings built in the late 18th and early 19th centuries, such as the home of Lieutenant Governor James Ladson, built in 1792.

7. Annapolis, Maryland (1649)

Annapolis The capital of Maryland also has a long history. The city was founded in the Chesapeake Bay in 1649 by Puritan exiles from Virginia, led by William Stone. Also these settlers sought religious freedom, and today the city is known for its academic successes (this is the location of St. John’s College and the US Naval Academy) and architectural historic sites. Also annapolis was named after the English Princess Anne, who in 1702 became Queen of England, Scotland and Ireland.

6. Newport, Rhode Island (1639)

Newport Newport is a luxury resort destination today, with huge mansions like The Breakers scattered throughout area. The city, founded in 1639, was a modest settlement of former followers of Anna Hutchinson. In short she was a Puritan leader who left Massachusetts for religious reasons. Subsequently, Newport became the largest Puritan settlement in the area. And today in Newport you can see many historic residential buildings and the oldest of the existing synagogues in America (1763).

5. Colonial Williamsburg (1638)

Williamsburg Colonial Williamsburg is an American city that takes its history and heritage very seriously, and today it is best known for its reconstructions of the Civil War, attracting countless tourists all year round. The city began its life as an English settlement in 1638 under the name Middle Plantation. But was subsequently renamed. Also one of the most remarkable features of the city is the excellent shape of the restored and preserved many original historical buildings. A walk through the old city will return, as far as possible, to American colonial times.

4. Boston, Massachusetts (1630)

Boston Boston is best known for its universities these days, but this beautiful city has also played a key role in American history several times. Puritan settlers led by John Smith founded the city  in 1630, played an important role in the American Revolution. Also it is full of historical sites such as Faney Hall, which attracts more than 20 million tourists.

3. New York, New York (1624)

New York

The story of New York, or New Amsterdam, as it was originally called, dates back to 1624, when about 30 families moved to Governor’s Island under the control of the Dutch West Indies Company (founded by Henry Hudson). Also today, New York is the most populous city in the United States, whose impressive metropolis is a direct legacy of its history as the largest gateway to the United States. But several historic buildings dating back to 1652 are scattered throughout the city.

2. Santa Fe, New Mexico (1610)

Santa Fe is not just the capital of New Mexico. It is the oldest state capital in the United States. Also it is one of the oldest cities in the whole country, conquistador Don Pedro de Peralta founded the city in 1610. It is the site of many old architectural monuments, such as the Cathedral of St Francis of Assisi and the oldest public building in the United States – the Palace of Governors (1610).

1. St. Augustine, Florida (1565)

Located in the northeast region of Florida, it is the oldest city in the United States. Spanish explorer Pedro Mendes de Aviles founded it in 1565 – St. Augustine. For 200 years, the city was the capital of Spain in the United States. Until it was captured by the British in the 17th century. Also today, the city is famous for its many historical sights. Such as Castillo de San Marcos, Fort Matanzas National Monument, Colonial Quarter and others.

15 самых старых городов Америки

Самые старые города Америки

Америку часто называют центром разнообразных культур. Однако если взглянуть на раннюю историю Соединенных Штатов, понимаешь почему. В те прошлые годы, когда первые европейские поселенцы только начинали прибывать в страну возможностей, современные американские столичные города, такие как Нью-Йорк, Сан-Франциско, Филадельфия и Сан-Антонио, были ничем иным, как крошечными поселениями, принадлежащими разным странам. Но со временем эти поселения развились и объединились, став историческими и культурными центрами, которые знакомы всем сегодня. Чтобы исследовать эту богатую, уникальную и зачастую сложную историю Америки, в этой статье рассказывается о 15 самых древних городах США.

15. Сан-Франциско, Калифорния (1776)

Сан-Франциско

Город Сан-Франциско является одним из старейших мегаполисов в Соединенных Штатах. А также его корни уходят в миссию, известную как Миссия Сан-Франциско-де-Асис, учрежденная испанским исследователем Хуаном Баутистой де Анзой в 1776 году. Первоначальная структура этой миссии сохранилась до наших дней, будучи самым старым зданием в городе у залива. Хотя это первое поселение в бухте Золотые Ворота было довольно небольшим. Но Калифорнийская Золотая лихорадка принесла тысячи новых жителей, превратив «Город Туманов» в один из крупнейших городов на западном побережье.

14. Саванна, Джорджия (1773)

Саванна, ДжорджияВ 1733 году английский генерал Джеймс Оглторп и 120 пассажиров достигли реки Саванна, основав колонию Джорджии, названную в честь английского короля Георга II. Саванна была первым крупным поселением в Джорджии, впоследствии ставшим столицей штата и крупным портом. Саванна известна своим продуманным планом города и красивой архитектурой.

13. Новый Орлеан, Луизиана (1718)

Новый ОрлеанМесто рождения джаза, — Новый Орлеан, был основан в 1718 году французским исследователем Жаном Батистом Ле Мойн де Биенвилем. Прежде всего названный в честь французского города Орлеан, он был впервые известен под названием Ноувел-Орлеанс. А также французское влияние на город можно увидеть и по сей день через многочисленные архитектурные жемчужины, построенные в то время, когда город был французской колонией. Но и на протяжении веков город был крупным культурным центром в Северной Америке, несмотря на многие стихийные бедствия, вызванные несколько неблагоприятным географическим положением города.

12. Сан-Антонио, штат Техас (1717)

Сан-АнтониоСанта-Антонио – седьмой по величине город в США по численности населения, но многие знают, что поселение имеет давнюю историю. Первый европейский визит в этот район нанес в 1709 году отец Антонио де Оливарес, который решил построить миссию в этом районе. А также с помощью местных индейцев паяйя Оливарес и другие испанские поселенцы построили Президио Сан-Антонио-де-Бексар, Acequia Madre de Valero, а главное – знаменитый Миссион-де-Сан-Антонио-де-Валеро (Аламо), ставший объектом всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

11. Мобил, Алабама (1702)

Город был основан французскими поселенцами в 1711 году. Основателем города был Жан-Батист Ле Мойн де Биенвиль. Изначально поселение было основано в нескольких километрах вверх, по сравнению с нынешним местоположением города. Но частые наводнения и болезни заставили жителей переселиться. Город был назван в честь реки Маубила (ныне река Мобил), на которой стоит город. А это также является названием местного племени коренных американцев.

10. Билокси, Миссисипи (1699)

Ещё одно французское колониальное поселение, основанное Биенвилем и названное в честь местного племени коренных народов, — Билокси. Интересно, что город был первоначально запланирован, чтобы стать столицей французской Луизианы, но столица была перенесена в Новый Орлеан из-за страха перед приливами и ураганами. К сожалению, эти опасения сбылись, спустя столетия, так как город был поражен ураганом Катрина в 2005 году. Он все еще восстанавливается после катастрофы сегодня.

9. Филадельфия, Пенсильвания (1682)

ФиладельфияФиладельфия, или «Город братской любви», была основана в 1682 году исследователем-квакером Уильямом Пенном, который представлял свою колонию как мирную землю. Эта колония станет в последтствии штатом Пенсильвания со столицей Филадельфии. А также сегодня город наиболее известен такими достопримечательностями, как Колокол Свободы и Зал Независимости.

8. Чарльстон, Южная Каролина (1680)

Чарльстон, или Чарльз Таун, как его первоначально назвали в честь короля Англии Карла II, был основан поселенцами, привезенными с Бермудских островов губернатором Уильямом Сэйлом. Прежде всего город стал сельскохозяйственным центром, известный рисом и индиго. Однако колонисты были в конфликте с местными жителями, поэтому город был впоследствии укреплен. А также по сей день в городе есть здания, построенные в конце 18 и начале 19 веков, такие как дом губернатора лейтенанта Джеймса Ладсона, построенный в 1792 году.

7. Аннаполис, штат Мэриленд (1649)

АннаполисСтолица Мэриленда тоже имеет давнюю историю. Город был основан в Чесапикском заливе в 1649 году пуританскими изгнанниками из Вирджинии во главе с Уильямом Стоуном. Эти поселенцы искали религиозную свободу. Но и сегодня город известен своими академическими успехами. Поскольку это место расположения колледжа Святого Иоанна и Военно-морской академии США. А также архитектурными историческими достопримечательностями. Аннаполис был назван в честь английской принцессы Анны, которая в 1702 году стала королевой Англии, Шотландии и Ирландии.

6. Ньюпорт, Род-Айленд (1639)

НьюпортНьюпорт – это роскошное курортное направление сегодня, с огромными особняками, такими как «The Breakers», разбросанными по всей области. Город, основанный в 1639 году, был скромным поселением бывших последователей Анны Хатчинсон, пуританского лидера. Она покинула Массачусетс по религиозным соображениям. Впоследствии Ньюпорт превратился в крупнейшее пуританское поселение в этом районе. Но и сегодня в Ньюпорте можно увидеть множество исторических жилых зданий и старейшую из существующих синагог Америки (1763 г.).

5. Колониальный Вильямсбург (1638)

ВильямсбургКолониальный Вильямсбург – американский город, который очень серьезно относится к своей истории и наследию. Но и сегодня он наиболее известен своими реконструкциями Гражданской войны, привлекающими бесчисленное количество туристов круглый год. Город начинал свою жизнь как английское поселение в 1638 году под названием Средняя плантация. Однако впоследствии был переименован. А также одной из самых замечательных особенностей города является то, что многие оригинальные исторические здания были восстановлены и сохранились в отличной форме. Прогулка по старому городу вернет, насколько это возможно, в американские колониальные времена.

4. Бостон, Массачусетс (1630)

БостонПрежде всего Бостон наиболее известен своими университетами в наши дни. Но этот красивый город также играл ключевую роль в американской истории несколько раз. Город был основан пуританскими поселенцами во главе с Джоном Смитом в 1630 году, сыграл важную роль в американской революции. Но и полон исторических мест, таких как зал Фаней, который привлекает более 20 миллионов туристов.

3. Нью-Йорк, Нью-Йорк (1624)

Нью-ЙоркИстория Нью-Йорка, или Нового Амстердама, как его первоначально называли, восходит к 1624 году. Около 30 семей переехали на Остров Губернатора под управлением Голландской Вест-Индской компании (основанной Генри Хадсоном). А также сегодня Нью-Йорк является самым густонаселенным городом в США. Так как внушительный мегаполис является прямым наследием его истории как крупнейших ворот в Соединенные Штаты. Несколько исторических зданий, построенных еще в 1652 году, разбросаны по всему городу.

2. Санта-Фе, Нью-Мексико (1610)

Санта-Фе – это не просто столица Нью-Мексико. Так как это самая старая столица штата в Соединенных Штатах. А также один из старейших городов во всей стране. Город был основан конкистадором Доном Педро де Перальта в 1610 году. Но и является местом расположения многих старых архитектурных памятников. Например, Кафедральный собор Святого Франциска Ассизского и старейшее общественное здание в США — Дворец губернаторов (1610 ).

1. Святой Августин, Флорида (1565)

Расположенный в северо-восточном регионе Флориды, это самый старый город в Соединенных Штатах. Он основан испанским исследователем Педро Мендесом де Авилесом в 1565 году — Сент-Августин. А также в течение 200 лет город был столицей Испании в Соединенных Штатах. Пока его не захватили англичане в 17 веке. Но и сегодня город славится своими многочисленными историческими достопримечательностями. Например, Кастильо-де-Сан-Маркос, Национальный монумент Форт Матансас, Колониальный квартал и другие.

Восточно Европейский Экспресс — доставка из США 

Поделиться на своей странице социальной сети: