How many countries in Europe

An unequivocal answer to the seemingly simple question: “How many countries are in Europe?” Is actually quite difficult for a number of objective reasons. They can be two categories:

  • geographic;
  • political.

Unanimously 44 countries are considered European countries. Opinions about a number of others differ.

How many countries in Europe, based on geographical indicators?

European countries, how many countries in Europe The confusion here comes from the fact that in the understanding of a significant part of people the words” continent “,” mainland “and” part of the world “are synonymous. But if you follow not a purely narrow-minded, but a scientific approach to the interpretation of these terms, then there is a significant difference. The continent and the mainland are geological and geographical concepts, while part of the world has historical and cultural semantics. Therefore, Europe and Asia, forming a single continental space, have a somewhat conventional border that runs along land. This explains the presence of states that are located simultaneously in two parts of the world.

There are five such countries. Of these, only Kazakhstan is not in European associations. And others (Azerbaijan, Armenia, Georgia and Turkey) are members of the Council of Europe. At the same time, Turkey is among the candidates to the EU countries.

But opinions are different depending on the point of view of the author of the classification. Perhaps the only country located simultaneously on two continents, which is unanimously attributed to Europe, is Russia. The historical roots of the state, the capital, the main economic potential and the number of people are all concentrated in the European part of its territory.

Separately, should consider the situation with Cyprus. Geographically, everything is unequivocal here, but it is often not included in the general list for political reasons. The former united state, for more than four decades, has actually been divided into three zones of influence (Cypriot, Turkish, and English). At the same time, the Republic of Cyprus, as a member of the EU, controls only a little more than half of the territory. One third is the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus.

And here we come close to another aspect of classification – the political one.

Political criteria in defining countries

It’s difficult to name the exact number of countries in Europe because of the ambiguous status of individual territories. Among the above-mentioned forty-four countries, we attributed the states that have the status recognized by all international organizations. Their number is valid for today. Social processes taking place in the world lead to changes on the political map of the planet.

Currently, so-called “dependent territories” remain in the European part of the world. Four of them belong to the United Kingdom of Great Britain:

  • Jersey;
  • Guernsey;
  • Maine (island);
  • Gibraltar.

The Aland Islands belong to Finland, Spitsbergen to Norway, and the Faroes are Danish dependent territory.

In addition, there is the concept of “unrecognized” or “partially recognized” states. These include:

  • Kosovo (Serbia);
  • Transnistria (Moldova);
  • Abkhazia and South Ossetia (on the territory of the Russian Federation);
  • Donetsk and Lugansk Republic (Ukraine).

Thus, the final answer to the question, so how many countries in Europe are there today, everyone can give only to himself.

Eastern European Express delivery from Europe to Ukraine of cargoes, parcels, goods.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Сколько стран в Европе?

Ответить однозначно на, казалось бы простой с виду, вопрос: «Сколько стран в Европе?» – на самом деле достаточно сложно в силу целого ряда объективных причин. Их можно разлить на две категории:

  • географические;
  • политические.

Единодушно странами Европы считаются 44 государства. Мнения по поводу ряда других отличаются.

Сколько стран в Европе, исходя из географических показателей?

Страны Европы, сколько стран в ЕвропеПутаница здесь происходит от того, что в понимании значительной части людей слова «континент», «материк» и «часть света» являются синонимами. Но если следовать не чисто обывательскому, а научному подходу к трактовке этих терминов, то здесь есть существенная разница. Континент и материк – понятия геолого-географические, а вот часть света имеет историко-культурную семантику. Поэтому Европа и Азия, образующие единое материковое пространство и не будучи разделенные водной преградой, имеют несколько условную границу, проходящую по суше. Этим объясняется наличие государств, которые расположены одновременно в двух частях света.

Таких стран пять. Из них только Казахстан не входит в европейские объединения. А другие (Азербайджан, Армения, Грузия и Турция) являются участниками Совета Европы. При этом Турция относится и к числу кандидатов в страны Евросоюза.

Хотя мнения могут разделяться в зависимости от точки зрения автора классификации. Пожалуй, единственная страна, расположенная одновременно на двух материках, которая единодушно причисляется к Европе, – это Россия. Исторические корни возникновения государства, столица, основной экономический потенциал и количество население, – все сосредоточено в европейской части её территории.

Отдельно следует рассмотреть ситуацию с Кипром. Географически здесь все однозначно, но его чаще не включают в общий список из политических соображений. Однако бывшее единое государство, вот уже более четырех десятилетий фактически разделено на три зоны влияния (киприотскую, турецкую и английскую). При этом Республика Кипр, являясь членом ЕС, контролирует только чуть больше половины территории. Одну треть занимает Турецкая Республика Северного Кипра. Обе эти страны являются частично признанными.

И здесь мы вплотную подходим к другому аспекту классификации – политическому.

Политические критерии в определении стран

Однако назвать точное число, сколько стран в Европе, сложно по причине неоднозначного статуса отдельных территорий. Так как к числу выше названных сорока четырех стран мы отнесли государства, имеющие статус признанных всеми международными организациями. Их количество справедливо на сегодня. Общественные процессы, происходящие в мире, приводят к изменениям на политической карте планеты. Как следствие, появляются новые государства, видоизменяются существующие.

Однако в настоящее время остаются еще в европейской части света так называемые «зависимые территории». Четыре из них относятся к Соединенному Королевству Великобритании:

  • Джерси;
  • Гернси;
  • Мэн (остров);
  • Гибралтар.

Аландские острова относится к Финляндии, Шпицберген – к Норвегии, а Фареры являются зависимой датской территорией.

Но кроме того, существует понятие «непризнанных» или же «частично признанных» государств. К ним стоит отнести:

  • Косово (Сербия);
  • Приднестровье (Молдавия);
  • Абхазию и Южную Осетию (на территории Российской Федерации);
  • Донецкую и Луганскую Республики (Украина).

И совсем уникальным случаем можно считать существование в Северном море Княжества Силенд.

Таким образом, окончательный ответ на вопрос, так сколько стран в Европе насчитывается на сегодня, каждый может дать только сам себе.

Восточно Европейский Экспресс — доставка из Европы в Украину грузов, посылок, товаров.

ПоделитьсяShare on Facebook
Facebook
Share on Google+
Google+
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *